The Present The Past Say What?


Interesting People
Bitch Ph.D.
Dooce
Soapboxgirls
Manolo's Shoe Blog
Tales of Gradschool Nothing
why i am the way i am

Literary Stuff
Bookslut
MoorishGirl
choriamb
Eclectica Magazine
CutBank Literary Magazine
The Muse Apprentice Guild
Branches Quarterly
Zuzu's Petals


Knitting is Sexy
Bagatell
knitty
Rebecca

Knitting Bloggers
Previous | Next


Causes/Education
Polaris Project
Scarleteen
Go Ask Alice!
Planned Parenthood


A Voracious Vocabulary
gainsay (verb) to declare false.

Knitting Addict
Fancy fair isle sweater for myself.



































































































































































































































































































Tuesday, Aug. 31, 2004 - 9:26 p.m.

I made it home safe and sound today and in really good time considering I left later than I had intended. I defintely should have followed the speed limit more closely, but I prefer to argue that it is is in my genes to drive faster than I should, via my mother's side of the family.

The whole trip to Seattle and Tacoma was a winner. Seeing me wee liddle bruder always is nice, especially when he is being nice. My mother continues negotiations in Minnesota, where, for those of you who don't now, my grandmother's third husband (the jerk) has a broken hip to add to his failing body and ill demeanor, the latter of which has lasted his whole damn lifetime.

I try to be generous, but really, this guy will be much happy and kinder when he finally passes away. My grandmother will also be a lot happier when he passes away and no longer has to put up with his verbal abuse. There have been many efforts from my grandmother's family and even her husband's family to get her the hell out of such a disagreeable situation. But, this woman who divorced her husband and raised her two daughtersd in the 1950s seems to be convinced (via the verbal abuse) that she has no money to her name. Granted, my grandmother deals with abandonment issues, but she does have two daughters who love her and would take her in happily were it that she actually would have no money when in reality she could earn a bundle in settlement for the crap she has put up with over the years.

My mother has been doing a lot of deep breathing this past week.

On my friend J's suggestion, I am going to draw up a contract for my parents to sign. This contract will require my parents to not be crotchety in their old age. My mother laughed. My dad asked what I would do if he didn't sign. He'll go live with the liddle bruder, that's what.

My trip, unlike my mother's, was mostly relaxing, visiting my former boyfriend and J. My former boyfriend, whom I now dub JC, fed me and gave me a place to stay at the apartment he shares with his slightly younger brother and two other friends.

Like I said before, I like to try to be generous, and though these boys JC lives with are kind people, they are total pigs. JC, on the other hand, lived with me for a year and had to learn to transcend his already clean ways. In short, JC is the only one who cleans at this apartment and put in extra effort for my stay (thank you JC!). Last night, I cleaned the kitchen to help out. I emptied and filled the dishwasher and wiped everything down. This morning you would not have been able to tell. Then, when I left this morning, I had to use the bathroom JC doesn't clean because he doesn't use it, and though it was better than I have seen it in the past, I still didn't want to touch anything.

Just goes to show ya, some boys (and girls) really are pigs. Yuck.

Enjoy the moral, girls and boys, and remember to wash your dishes more than once a week.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!