The Present The Past Say What?


Interesting People
Bitch Ph.D.
Dooce
Soapboxgirls
Manolo's Shoe Blog
Tales of Gradschool Nothing
why i am the way i am

Literary Stuff
Bookslut
MoorishGirl
choriamb
Eclectica Magazine
CutBank Literary Magazine
The Muse Apprentice Guild
Branches Quarterly
Zuzu's Petals


Knitting is Sexy
Bagatell
knitty
Rebecca

Knitting Bloggers
Previous | Next


Causes/Education
Polaris Project
Scarleteen
Go Ask Alice!
Planned Parenthood


A Voracious Vocabulary
gainsay (verb) to declare false.

Knitting Addict
Fancy fair isle sweater for myself.



































































































































































































































































































Thursday, Sept. 30, 2004 - 11:48 a.m.

Like so many other online diaries, mine is turning into a bibliography of links. In that tradition, as you prepare to vote, please consider this . Don't ask me why this blogger has a kitten shooting a machine gun as part of his masthead, because I think I don't want to know anyway. But, trust me that his entry is interesting and seems to be well-founded.

Also, a recent study found that those who watch The Daily Show with Jon Stewart are 78% more likely to have four years of college education or more than those who watch The O'Reilly Factor (Really, does Bill O'Reilly factor into anything besides tv ratings?). Viewers of the Daily Show and other late night shows also scored higher on a political pop quiz. You can take the quiz via the article above. I scored a 5 out of 6 on my first try and was disappointed to find out that the highest overall scores in the study itself were only 3.29. How come people do not know these issues?

This study, though, has me contemplating the role of humor in our society. I am a serious person, most of the time, but I love to laugh, and in fact, need to laugh when I begin to consider all the shitty things going on in this world. I think humor is essential to us, in order to be healthy human beings with educated perspectives on the world in which we live. Is humor a privlege or a right? Do we deserve to be able to laugh, or is it something that we are lucky to be able to do?

It must be some of both.

Remember! Tonight is the first 2004 Presidential Debate. It will pretty much be on every channel, so you might as well tune in. It should be good for a couple of laughs, at least, and an education.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!