The Present The Past Say What?


Interesting People
Bitch Ph.D.
Dooce
Soapboxgirls
Manolo's Shoe Blog
Tales of Gradschool Nothing
why i am the way i am

Literary Stuff
Bookslut
MoorishGirl
choriamb
Eclectica Magazine
CutBank Literary Magazine
The Muse Apprentice Guild
Branches Quarterly
Zuzu's Petals


Knitting is Sexy
Bagatell
knitty
Rebecca

Knitting Bloggers
Previous | Next


Causes/Education
Polaris Project
Scarleteen
Go Ask Alice!
Planned Parenthood


A Voracious Vocabulary
gainsay (verb) to declare false.

Knitting Addict
Fancy fair isle sweater for myself.



































































































































































































































































































Monday, Nov. 22, 2004 - 9:00 p.m.




You're To Kill a Mockingbird!

by Harper Lee

Perceived as a revolutionary and groundbreaking person, you have
changed the minds of many people. While questioning the authority around you, you've
also taken a significant amount of flack. But you've had the admirable guts to
persevere. There's a weird guy in the neighborhood using dubious means to protect you,
but you're pretty sure it's worth it in the end. In the end, it remains unclear to you
whether finches and mockingbirds get along in real life.



Take the Book Quiz
at the Blue Pyramid.

Saturday, Nov. 20, 2004 - 7:46 p.m.

Just in case you were in doubt...

This was the downstairs bathroom two days ago:

Now there is no linoleum and no sink. Yeah, and you thought I was being mean to my mother.

Saturday, Nov. 20, 2004 - 7:26 p.m.

My mom has issues with window treatments. First of all, any decoration or wall placement in my parents' house is likely to be changed every five years or so. You think I'm joking. I am not. Maybe exaggerating a little, but just a little.

So, she has all these requirement for how she wants the living room's picture windows to be dressed. Basically, one idea cancells out the other, thus she has an impossible mess. You know those kids who know what they want but don't know what they want? That's my mom.

Today I bought roller shades on my trip to Kalispell. Well, the Home Depot man cut the shades too short, and now they don't fit. Plus (as if this could get any better), he gave me the wrong mounting hardware (actually my mom's fault, since she didn't specify, probably assuming I would just KNOW). Now my mother has bought the right hardware, and the roller shades are too short. Soon the whole situation is going to come crashing down, and my dad and I will end up taping garbage bags to the window.

Hey, Liddle Bruder, care to take a wager on how long it will take? My money is on 48 hours.

Saturday, Nov. 20, 2004 - 7:24 p.m.

Manolo has inspired me to admit my love of shoes, but I doubt the Manolo would approve of my desire to don my feet with these.

Thursday, Nov. 18, 2004 - 9:39 p.m.

Movies Someone Should Have Warned Me About II

Sleeping With the Enemy

The hair in this movie is just too scary to even consider sitting through the mediocre story line. Really, that's all there is to say about this movie.

Thursday, Nov. 18, 2004 - 9:33 p.m.

Alright, I have no bloody clue what is going on with my email. It is not forwarding to my regular email account. Stand by if you're trying to get a hold of me. I'm hoping the diaryland guys can help me figure this out.

Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004 - 10:39 p.m.

Once again, I have realized that the email link on this diary was, well, fucked up. How one person could manage to make so many mistakes as far as one simple thing eludes me.

So, again, if you have been trying to contact me, please, please, please try again.

Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2004 - 11:49 a.m.

I assumed I would be lucky to be hired for a decent-paying job in an office with nice people to offset the inevitable monotony that is involved in the usual employment fair. I, though, have pretty much been hired by Community Crossroads as a feature writer for my area, which appearantly has a sad lack of persons with any writing or employment aspirations. I hate to say that I have hit some hidden luck, in fear that I just might scare it back into hiding. But, really, who would have guessed I would find a job writing in Libby, Montana?

Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004 - 1:20 p.m.

The New York Times has one parent's account of her child's panic attacks and Prozac.

It is a good article, reflective and honest.

Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004 - 1:14 p.m.

Adobe Books transformed its store into a magical array of color for one day. Pictures here.

In the green range, you can see a green copy of Zadie Smith's White Teeth. Finally, a useful reason that the book was published several different cover colors. My copy was orange. If you have my copy of 'White Teeth', by the way, I want it back.

Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004 - 1:10 p.m.

If you have been one of the wonderful people trying to email me, please try again. My wonderful liddle bruder pointed out to me that my contact information was screwed up. With that said, Jeff, try emailing me again.

Monday, Nov. 15, 2004 - 1:26 p.m.

Why is The Christian Science Monitor the only news source that has said it as it is? Colin Powell, if you stay and try to knock some sense into this administration, I will bake you cookies every day.

Monday, Nov. 15, 2004 - 1:10 p.m.

I have developed the terrible habit of sleeping in late. NO!!! I'm desperately trying to convince myself that this is not a sign that I am turning into the sad epitome of a 'boomerang kid' (as coined by the Jane Pauley Show, during an episode concerning college graduates who have had to return home after graduation). The sad part is that I am not doing anything terribly physically taxing that would require me to sleep so late. (I would prefer to be able to say that I was out all night sipping martinis at a high class bar, but instead I am sitting in my room indulging in the life of Rebacca Sharp of Thakeray's 'Vanity Fair'. I am curious if Thakeray's middle name,Makepeace, was common in his time. I wasn't sure how to pronounce it at first, since 'make peace' seemed too obvious. I was thinking maybe it should be pronounced 'maka piazza'. It's not, and pronouncing it as such would make me laugh hysterically, which, I guess, is as good a reason as any to pronounce it incorrectly.) My only logical conclusion that is I am catching up on four years of limited sleep and high stress.

Ever wonder was the Beatitudes would sound like set to 70s rock guitar? Well, maybe you sould listen to Simon and Garfunkel's 'Blessed'.

Monday, Nov. 15, 2004 - 12:46 p.m.

Oh, dear Manolo I lay my shoe ignorant self at your feet. Teach me master!

Sunday, Nov. 14, 2004 - 1:11 p.m.

Maureen Dowd's op-ed columns have tendency to feel convuluted due to her love of literary references, but the this piece is pretty coherent. Just reading it makes my blood boil.

Frank Rich offers perspective, as he so often does. I am not sure which scares me more, the idea that the cultural right will find a way to pass a constitutional amendenment banning gay marriage as well as a way to overturn Roe v Wade or the idea that Rupert Murdoch will continue to bring us such entertainment as the "The Simple Life" and "Trading Spouses".

Saturday, Nov. 13, 2004 - 8:34 p.m.

Some of these pictures and words might not be terribly eloquent or kind, but the majority of them move my heart. I really believe Sorry Everybody is a sign that Americans are longing for acountability. Though you could argue that these people are trying to not take accountability for the outcome of the election, I think quite differently. Saying you apologize is an act of taking responsibility and, at its best, a promise to do better in the future.

Also, it tells the rest of the world that many of us don't take our role in the world community lightly, and that we value their support. The responses to the apologies from citizens of other countries are also encouraging. They too express their frustration at the US election, but some also point out that their own leaders aren't doing so well either. None of are safe from the scary continuation of conflict, and so many of us want to change our world.

I find the ones from those in the military especially touching.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!