The Present The Past Say What?


Interesting People
Bitch Ph.D.
Dooce
Soapboxgirls
Manolo's Shoe Blog
Tales of Gradschool Nothing
why i am the way i am

Literary Stuff
Bookslut
MoorishGirl
choriamb
Eclectica Magazine
CutBank Literary Magazine
The Muse Apprentice Guild
Branches Quarterly
Zuzu's Petals


Knitting is Sexy
Bagatell
knitty
Rebecca

Knitting Bloggers
Previous | Next


Causes/Education
Polaris Project
Scarleteen
Go Ask Alice!
Planned Parenthood


A Voracious Vocabulary
gainsay (verb) to declare false.

Knitting Addict
Fancy fair isle sweater for myself.



































































































































































































































































































Tuesday, Nov. 30, 2004 - 12:33 p.m.

My employment with Community Crossroads has changed some. My boss and founder of the magazine, Don, who really is the nicest guy you could ever possibly meet came over to Libby today to approach businesses with me. Basically, I have been in a constant state of anxiety over going around town, asking businesses if they want to advertise, but I thought I would give it a shot this one time.

Well, being the inexperienced salesperson I am, I didn't realize I would have to be going to ten businesses a day, five days a week. That's fifty businesses a week! Omigod, I could already feel myself immobolized by anxiety.

Now, before you proclaim me a royal baby, you have to understand that not only was I faced with overcoming my anxiety but also with Libby, a jaded, stubborn community. Even the best and most hopeful of Libby residents can't help but feel defeated by the vapid quality of this community.

Maybe if I were a more confident salesperson, or a salesperson at all, I could muster the courage to approach Libby businesses with the belief that they too have the hope that Libby will make it past the next century. Unfortunately, I am not that confident, and I have more anxiety than is my due.

Don has been very understanding, like I said, he really is the nicest guy you would ever want to meet. So, now I will just be writing articles for Community Crossroads, which will at least give Libby some exposure. I wish I were cut out to be a publisher, one who could spark this magazine in the Libby community. But, I am not a publisher. I am just a writer.

Tuesday, Nov. 30, 2004 - 12:17 p.m.

For all of you have asked, yes it has snowed here in the chilly northwest.

That house in the picture is SuperGeniusKid's family's. Soon, very soon, any-minute-soon, there will be a new little one in their house. SGK's mom was due to give birth the day after Thanksgiving. Still no baby, only one understandably grumpy pregnant lady.

Monday, Nov. 29, 2004 - 5:24 p.m.

My liddle bruder visited his girlfriend, who is studying in Spain this fall semester, for Thanksgiving. My brother is so cool, he brought me this beautiful Spanish scarf.

Now I really feel bad for not bringing him anything from my Thanksgiving 2002 visit to Athens, Greece.

Monday, Nov. 29, 2004 - 12:05 p.m.

This would totally work.

Monday, Nov. 29, 2004 - 11:43 a.m.

So, I haven't written here for awhile, and just my luck, the number of people visiting my site jumps like my brother at the sight of a spider. I wish I could say that I have just been lazy, but really it has been a matter of dealing with depression.

Remember that old saying, "Pull yourself up by your bootstraps"? Well, people who suffer from depression have no proverbial bootstraps to speak of. When people spew out that saying to me, I would like to say, "Thanks for reminding me how deficient I am as a human being." Of course, that is not true, but it is how I feel at times, like right now.

It will pass. But there will be a lot of hard work on my part, not pulling up my bootstraps, but rather, working on piecing together this part of my life and my potential future and avoiding the constant urge to take a nap in the ever-scarce sunshine. That not pulling yourself up by your bootstraps. That's just moving forward.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!