The Present The Past Say What?


Interesting People
Bitch Ph.D.
Dooce
Soapboxgirls
Manolo's Shoe Blog
Tales of Gradschool Nothing
why i am the way i am

Literary Stuff
Bookslut
MoorishGirl
choriamb
Eclectica Magazine
CutBank Literary Magazine
The Muse Apprentice Guild
Branches Quarterly
Zuzu's Petals


Knitting is Sexy
Bagatell
knitty
Rebecca

Knitting Bloggers
Previous | Next


Causes/Education
Polaris Project
Scarleteen
Go Ask Alice!
Planned Parenthood


A Voracious Vocabulary
gainsay (verb) to declare false.

Knitting Addict
Fancy fair isle sweater for myself.



































































































































































































































































































Monday, Dec. 13, 2004 - 6:44 p.m.

Centre looks so much more elegant than center.

Monday, Dec. 13, 2004 - 6:37 p.m.

What do I think of when I drive by a working construction site?

Shoes!

Yeah, I would definitely think of that. Theoretically, after all, catepillars would need to own quite a few pairs of shoes.

Monday, Dec. 13, 2004 - 6:30 p.m.

Tomorrow is my 23rd birthday. That's right; I have been making the world a better place for 23 years. My mom has to hop 200 miles over to Missoula tomorrow, to pick up my little grandmother (she really is little), so my dad is taking me to have sushi in Whitefish! Yummmm!!!

I talk about pining for sushi only every day, so this is the most thoughtful gift ever. My hometown might have a sushi bar, but first it would have to have an Italian restaurant, a Mexican resaurant (there is one being built, but it has to last at least a month before it contributes to the taste in international cuisine of this small Montana town), and a Chinese restaurant that didn't have continuous cases of food poisoning. Wishing for a Thai resaurant would be too much.

Friday, Dec. 10, 2004 - 12:31 p.m.

The Polaris Project has a new online store that features artwork notecards created by survivors of human trafficking. You can also buy unqiue artwork created from African butterfly wings. The proceeds will go to the financial independence of the survivors and the continued work of The Polaris Project.

We need to put an end to the horrific situation that is sex and human trafficking, and we need to do it NOW.

Thursday, Dec. 09, 2004 - 11:51 a.m.

A recent Columbia University study found that teens who make "virginity pledges" to delay sex until marriage still have premarital sex at a high rate (88 percent) rivaling those that don't, but are less likely to use contraception once they do.

Virginity pledges? What makes any intelligent adult believe that teenagers are capable of keeping any sort of pledge when it comes to sexuality and over-active hormones?

Thursday, Dec. 09, 2004 - 11:46 a.m.

I hate Donald Rumsfeld so much, I could just cry. I am serious. Santa? All I want for Christmas is for Rumsfeld to retire. Him being struck by lightening would be okay too.

Wednesday, Dec. 08, 2004 - 5:19 p.m.

To only further my point, here is the controversy that is goint on in the Montana State Legislature. First off, my friend J was right, Democrats do control the state senate.

Now, the problem is that in Lake County there is a tie between the two representative canidates, one canidate is a liberterian, the other a democrat. Which ever one wins will determine which party controls the state house of representatives. If the tie cannot be decided by a recount, the govenor will decide who wins. Now, besides the fact this sounds utterly ridiculous to me, the problem is whether or not the sitting duck govenor will choose, she's a republican, or the new govenor, he's a democrat.

I find this all hilarious. Could the situation be any more complicated or divided?

Wednesday, Dec. 08, 2004 - 5:11 p.m.

I found this article while looking for the controversy that is going on in the Montana State Legislature. This Berg guy that is in charge of The Montana Absitnence Partnership has to be throw back to the 1950s. I am especially impressed by this quote:

Berg also said there's nothing wrong with people getting married younger as a way of honoring chastity pledges without having to wait until one is in the late to mid- 20s to lose one's virginity.

"That is a long time to wait," he said.

Yep, he's a winner. Don't hold him against us, okay?

Wednesday, Dec. 08, 2004 - 4:56 p.m.

I live in a so-called "red state". While I understand the desire to simplify the confusing chaos that is politics, I have a tendency to resent Montana being labelled a red state.

Yes, Montana's electoral votes went to Bush, but Montana also elected a Democratic govenor, whose Lt. govenor is a republican at the same time. And, let's not forget that Montana was the first state to elect a woman, Jeanette Rankin to the U.S. House of Representatives, before women were even allowed to vote. Oddly enough, Rankin was also a Republican and a pacifist. She opposed WWI, WWII, and Vietnam.

I have been considering, then, how Montanans tend to lean politically. I think there is an innate connection between the land on which they live and hopefully thrive and how they vote.

My only real conclusion is that Montanans (I you think we are 'Montanians', you need to repent your sins against my homestate.) are never willing to tow the party line. Living in a land that is harsh and beautiful at the same time, I believe, forces one to reflect and seriously consider one's present and future conditions. Idealistic? Yes. I am being idealistic. And, yes, there are those Montanans who do tow the party line. But, overall, I think Montanans make it pretty appearant they are more complex, intelligent individuals than the leaders of our society like to consider any American to be. Either that or we are just as stubborn as all hell.

Both, most likely.

Tuesday, Dec. 07, 2004 - 12:20 p.m.

The other thing about not being in school any more is that I have a ridiculous amount of time to be distracted by things like this.

Obviously I am not the only one with extra time on my hands.

(I Love Eggs found via Psycho Kitty.)

Sunday, Dec. 05, 2004 - 2:05 p.m.

Tacoma is much as I remembered it. It felt oddly nostalgic for my just having graduated seven months ago. Omigod, I have almost been a college graduate for a whole year! And I am not accomplished yet!

Last night I was treated to all kinds of good food that I didn't have cook or bake. That's what happens when you travel 500 miles to visit people you love. I visited with my classmates from my English capstone/senior seminar, a group of writers who clicked in such a way that it makes me loath not having them around all the time to critique my work. Many of them are anticipating grad school or dreading the contemplation that comes in the face of not knowing what one wants to do with the first day of the rest of one's life. Then there were the two of us who had graduated last May, listening to the news and gossip to which we usually are no longer privy.

This visit, though, has shown me how far I have come in the last few months. I went from a culture of a twenty-something majority living in academia, to a culture more diverse in age, occupation, and ambition.

My friends here are thinking about papers and tests. I am thinking about the new baby that was brought into the world just a couple of days ago, as well as the neighbor down the street whose brain cancer has returned. I always resented it when a person remarked that college wasn't the real world. While I still don't completely agree that college is a much easier life than others, I am beginning to understand that college is in an of itself a rather contained and sheltered part of life, where learning and naps is all you need to be happy.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!