The Present The Past Say What?


Interesting People
Bitch Ph.D.
Dooce
Soapboxgirls
Manolo's Shoe Blog
Tales of Gradschool Nothing
why i am the way i am

Literary Stuff
Bookslut
MoorishGirl
choriamb
Eclectica Magazine
CutBank Literary Magazine
The Muse Apprentice Guild
Branches Quarterly
Zuzu's Petals


Knitting is Sexy
Bagatell
knitty
Rebecca

Knitting Bloggers
Previous | Next


Causes/Education
Polaris Project
Scarleteen
Go Ask Alice!
Planned Parenthood


A Voracious Vocabulary
gainsay (verb) to declare false.

Knitting Addict
Fancy fair isle sweater for myself.



































































































































































































































































































Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005 - 11:05 p.m.

Meet Sun Tzu:

Sun Tzu is a ponytail palm that my roommate/bestfriend/boyfriend and I bought when our landlord banned us from adopting a cat. We rescued Sun Tzu from the poorly tended nursery shelves of Target. I wanted to name Sun Tzu Ferguson, but for some reason or another caved.

For those of you who read for fun, Sun Tzu is the author of the perennial classic The Art of War. Later, I bought my friend a bamboo plant. He named it Hannibal (as in the elephant-riding warrior from Carthage, not the Anthony Hopkins' charactar). Now my friend, who is living it up in England, much to my changrin, is nurturing a tallandsia. He has named it Machiavelli.

I am going to buy a plant to keep Sun Tzu company and give a name that isn't connected to a war-faring/politcal male. I will look at the plant and let it speak to me. If it speak "George W Bush", I will be returing it.

Sunday, Jan. 09, 2005 - 7:02 p.m.

Miss Wyoming by Douglas Coupland (And I did read the UK version, which is prettier on the outside.)

Former pageant brat and tv child star Susan Colgate meets dubious soulmate, soul-searching movie producer John Johnson, much stalking and introduction of other secondary and dubious characters ensues. John Johnson sees a vision of Susan just before he dies some sort of functionary meltdown that has, oddly enough, nothing to do with his out of control drug and sex habits. He sells of all his possessions and becomes a homeless wanderer in search of enlightenment. This doesn't work; he meets Susan, and it unfolds that the two have parallel experiences.

The story is compelling enough but is weighed down by the top heavy literary devices Coupland employs. Conciseness is not Coupland's gig. The characters inspire enough sympathy in the reader. If only their lives were being told by a more compelling writer.

Friday, Jan. 07, 2005 - 1:22 p.m.

Omigod.

I am on the verge of a panic attack.

Wednesday, Jan. 05, 2005 - 9:54 p.m.

When SuperGenuisKid came to visit the other day:

SGK: What are you doing?

Me: Taking a nap.

SGK: Why are you taking a nap?

Me: Because I am tired.

SGK: Why are you tired?

Me: Because I stayed up too late last night, reading.

SGK: Why did you stay up too late last night, reading?

Me: Because I like to read.

SGK: Why do you like to read?

Me: Because I'm magical.

SGK: No you're not.

Me: Yes, I am.

SGK: NO, you're not.

Me: Why are you here?

SGK: My (new baby) brother is crying.

Me: Why is he crying?

SGK: He's hungry.

Me: Why is he hungry?

SGK: He is always hungry.

Me: Why is he always hungry?

SGK: Why do you keep asking me why?

Me: Because I am magical.

SGK: No, you're not. Stop asking me why.

Despite their best attempts, five year olds do not grasp logic.

Wednesday, Jan. 05, 2005 - 9:46 p.m.

Blogs, both literary and otherwise, are trading lists of authors on their bookshelves. C'mon, participate. Copy the following list into your blog/diary and replace those authors whom one would not find on your bookshelf with those one would (these are in bold).


1. Anita Diamant
2. Marion Zimmer Bradley
3. Lauren Slater
4. Charlotte and Emily Bronte
5. Jane Austen
6. J.K. Rowling
7. William Makepeace Thakeray
8. Alton Brown
9. Margaret Atwood
10. William Shakespeare

Originally found at Analyze Julie...

Wednesday, Jan. 05, 2005 - 1:02 p.m.

Watching CBS news report from tsunami destruction last night, my mother commented, "Dan Rather sounds like a broken man. Poor guy." Ever since the uncreatively dubbed "Memogate" broke out, most media, not just the mainstream, had made me dubious. I read The New York Times, watch NBC and ABC nightly news (the latter two mainly out of habit than out of choice), and I wholly trust any of those sources.

I am sad to see Dan Rather go, because his being a scapegoat for all the shoddy research and reporting done by all the media hurts all of us who are looking for realiable news sources. The Columbia Jouranlism Review's article, Blog-gate, looks deeper into this phenomenon that kicked Dan Rather out to the curb. The article isn't too lengthy and is easy to read.

Politcal conservative may call the mainstream media a liberal conspiracy. Polictical liberals may call the mainstream media a conservative conspiracy. But, when it comes down to it, the mainstream media has not wronged political liberals or political conservatives. The mainstream media has wronged all of us who strive to be educated about our world and current events thereof. It is about time we became angry about it.

Monday, Jan. 03, 2005 - 1:51 p.m.

I'm learning to knit. And, I'm actually pretty decent at it, especially considering I have never been able to get the hang of crocheting.

Monday, Jan. 03, 2005 - 1:29 p.m.

Third Installment of Movies Someone Should Have Warned Me About

Slap Shot

The liddle bruder is a huge hockey fan. He owns any number of movies that revolve around said sport, including Slap Shot. This past week, during one of the few hours we were not watching Arrested Development, the liddle bruder decided we should watch Slap Shot. Our father quickly seconded this. I was knitting, or learning a skill thereof, so I wasn't allowed much of a say. I figured I would follow the plot simply through the dialogue.

Simply put, there is no significant or contextual dialogue in the movie Slap Shot. A down-on-its-luck hockey team turns its impending doom around through fighting and cursing. There also two subplots regarding the romantic interests of Paul Newman's character and his kind of arch-nemesis. These made no sense whatsoever.

Conclusion: violence and hockey go hand in hand to create a movie whose plot revolves around three morons who bloody opponents and race remote control cars.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!