The Present The Past Say What?


Interesting People
Bitch Ph.D.
Dooce
Soapboxgirls
Manolo's Shoe Blog
Tales of Gradschool Nothing
why i am the way i am

Literary Stuff
Bookslut
MoorishGirl
choriamb
Eclectica Magazine
CutBank Literary Magazine
The Muse Apprentice Guild
Branches Quarterly
Zuzu's Petals


Knitting is Sexy
Bagatell
knitty
Rebecca

Knitting Bloggers
Previous | Next


Causes/Education
Polaris Project
Scarleteen
Go Ask Alice!
Planned Parenthood


A Voracious Vocabulary
gainsay (verb) to declare false.

Knitting Addict
Fancy fair isle sweater for myself.



































































































































































































































































































Saturday, Mar. 12, 2005 - 11:19 p.m.

Book Review:The Pilot's Wife

Intersting idea made utterly shallow and vain. Lame.

Saturday, Mar. 12, 2005 - 10:47 p.m.

Now that the reality of Idaho has set in, a calm has ensued. The University of Montana has chosen not to accept me, which was a disappointment. Yet, the successful writers teaching at the University of Idaho graduated from the University of Montana, and they see something in my writing which is worth investing in. It is my impression that the University of Montana has developed an ego issue. Yes, this might sound like me being bitter, and that very well might be an underlying feeling, but the University of Montana was never terribly appealing to me.

That said, the Columbia University has yet to inform me of a decision.

SuperGeniusKid and her SuperGeniusSister are just realizing that my living here is temporary. Who really understands change at 5 and 8 anyway? Isn't the whole idea maintaining a sense of stability for children those ages? Upon my acceptance to Idaho, they have changed some. SuperGeniusKid doesn't just hug me, she squeezes my neck. SuperGeniusMom commented to SGK, "It is going to be a sad day when Alice leaves."

I know I have pontificated before on the many lessons SuperGeniusKid, SuperGeniusSister, and, now, SuperGeniusBrother have taught me. But, more than I ever, I can see this time in my hometown as a gift, and much of that has to do with my experiences in a community that is solely made up of twenty-somethings. After all, it isn't nearly as amusing to hear a 25 year old say copacetic as it is to hear a 5 year old say plethora.

I feel a memoir topic sprouting in my brain. Hmmm...graduate school couldn't come too quickly, I guess.

Monday, Mar. 07, 2005 - 9:21 p.m.

The University of Idaho has officially accepted me into their Creative Nonfiction MFA writing program! The director of the program called me today to inform me. He CALLED me! They are also offering me a TA job. Then I still might recieve a scholarship!

The director himself is a poet and his wife also teaches at the university and is well-published. In fact, I have read her work. While the director was speaking with me, his wife wanted to speak with me. She loved my writing! She told me that as a committee, they recieve a lot of good writing, mine really stood out.

The verdict is still out on whether or not the University of Montana or Columbia have accepted me. Today I recieved a rejection letter from the University of Michigan, but I couldn't care less! Ahahahahah!!!

To be honest, I think the important thing is that Idaho wants me. They appreciate my writing and want to help me grow as a writer. If Columbia or Montana cannot offer me that, Idaho is the clear choice. Even without Montana and Columbia, I am leaning to Idaho. I don't very much want to live in Missoula or New York City. Plus, I want to be a women writer in the West. Idaho is the best place to do that. Hmmm...beautiful choices.

Sunday, Mar. 06, 2005 - 12:30 a.m.

Tonight, I downloaded Hildegard von Bingen, and all I have to say is, "Hello, my soul."

I first heard the music of Hildegard von Bingen in one of my first university classes. To be honest, her music has been the soundtrack to my soul ever since.

Thank you, Samuel.

Friday, Mar. 04, 2005 - 11:34 p.m.

As any one could tell by a previous post, my home community does not place value on education. If anything, this hometown of mine is an example of what a fucked and dire situation our education system is. Teenagers can't read for fifteen minutes straight and brag that they have never read a book in their lives.

Today I visited a much loved English teacher I had in high school. That I braved the literal stench of the high school halls to see her should indicate how much I love her. She is a brilliant teacher, and, like all of us, has her human flaws. In conversation, she has a tendency to dwell on the more negative aspects of her life.

Today, I learned the following:

1)She won't recieve insurance after she retires this May.

2)Of the teachers who retire in any given year, the seven with the most experience recieve insurance. The superintendent of schools can extend that insurance if they so choose.

3)The superintedent in question, a not-so-rare form of dickhead, chose not to extend this insurance this year, when last year he did and, in fact, paid someone twice.

4)Of the teachers who are retiring in this current year, the three who did not qualify for insurance are women. In the particular case of previously mentioned beloved teacher, the lack of time served is due to her choosing to take time to raise her children.

5)Of the seven teachers who did recieve insurance, the majority are men.

Now, I am advised to take my teacher's complaints with a grain of salt, with which I agree. Personal anger skews our points-of-views. And, this teacher isn't taking legal action, nor can she afford to. I have been told that that is just the way it is.

Here are my questions. At what point do you pick up the fight? At what point does the fight become universal and applicable to more than one? When is it appropriate to let our anger carry us forward for transformation?

When?

Friday, Mar. 04, 2005 - 12:21 p.m.

Quick Updates:

Being Teased Because:

I didn't know what a three martini lunch means. It's a business lunch, for those of you who, like me, are not familiar with those kind of antiquated phrases. My father further explained that his first three martini lunch was also his last.

Can't Stop:

Knitting or watching Judging Amy.

Supposed to be Reading:

Daisy Bates in the Desert...

Instead, I'm:

Kitting and watching Judging Amy.

Scared of:

Recieving mail with a return address that includes the word university.

Have Concluded that these Quick Updates Are:

Fun but require more thought than I had anticipated.

My Question of the Week to the Universe:

If my mother tears down her bathroom wall, and my father is not around to hear it, what shower design will she choose?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!