The Present The Past Say What?


Interesting People
Bitch Ph.D.
Dooce
Soapboxgirls
Manolo's Shoe Blog
Tales of Gradschool Nothing
why i am the way i am

Literary Stuff
Bookslut
MoorishGirl
choriamb
Eclectica Magazine
CutBank Literary Magazine
The Muse Apprentice Guild
Branches Quarterly
Zuzu's Petals


Knitting is Sexy
Bagatell
knitty
Rebecca

Knitting Bloggers
Previous | Next


Causes/Education
Polaris Project
Scarleteen
Go Ask Alice!
Planned Parenthood


A Voracious Vocabulary
gainsay (verb) to declare false.

Knitting Addict
Fancy fair isle sweater for myself.



































































































































































































































































































Sunday, Sept. 12, 2004 - 7:43 p.m.

My diary is looking like a weekly deal, though I continue to think about updating it every day but then become distracted by the likes of dooce.com and finding a job.

First and foremost, I would like to send JM a lot of love. Life in a new country (Spain) has to be hard, especially while you are having to meet new people. We think of you everyday, JM, and are hoping the best for you.

Soon the man I love will be heading to his own new home, Durham, England. The thing is, JC is totally into that kinda thing, and if there is a pub nearby, he'll manage. He might not like to admit this, especially when he is nervous right before the trip, but he knows it is true. Nothing cures homesickness like Guiness.

As for own little new/old home in Libby, things are goin' alright. The job search continues. No rejections yet, mind you, but I am doing my best to cover my ass, applying to every open job under the sun, practically. MFA applications are also under full swing, and that's all I have to say right now.

Every Wednesday or Thursday, though, I am privledged enough to spend my time with this little pixie of a girl:

Meet SuperGeniusKid. Four and one half years old and totally full of trouble and the charm to get herself out of that trouble. I tried to capture the "all-knowing" look she regularly gives me when I am trying to be an adult, but she moves too fast in her extensive repotoire of facial expressions for me to capture any one, distinct look.

I keep trying to teach her the word 'copacetic' (which she always pronounces 'copathetic', which seems to be more accurate at times), but she claims she cannot remember the word. Doesn't it take seven times for someone to actually memorize something? For kids it must be considerably more than that. Luckily, they are cute.

Babysitting SGK is a whole new experience for me. As a teenager, I rarely babysat. I just wasn't able to relate to little ones so well at that point. They made me nervous.

Four years of college, though, made me appreciate kids more, since I was more often surrounded by twenty-somethings (sometimes acting like kids, without being nearly so cute). Kids really do offer me a larger perspective on the world. Seeing SGK and her older sister, LizardLover, makes me realize that life is not all clever remarks or looking sophisticated. Really, SGK couldn't care less, and that is refreshing.

Granted, there I times I wish I could find myself admist the bustle of a metropolis on my way to a small cafe to drink coffee and meet handsome men. But, then, sometimes SGK crawls into my lap while we color and watch disney cartoons. Then I think, "This is enough. This is enough for now."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!