The Present The Past Say What?


Interesting People
Bitch Ph.D.
Dooce
Soapboxgirls
Manolo's Shoe Blog
Tales of Gradschool Nothing
why i am the way i am

Literary Stuff
Bookslut
MoorishGirl
choriamb
Eclectica Magazine
CutBank Literary Magazine
The Muse Apprentice Guild
Branches Quarterly
Zuzu's Petals


Knitting is Sexy
Bagatell
knitty
Rebecca

Knitting Bloggers
Previous | Next


Causes/Education
Polaris Project
Scarleteen
Go Ask Alice!
Planned Parenthood


A Voracious Vocabulary
gainsay (verb) to declare false.

Knitting Addict
Fancy fair isle sweater for myself.



































































































































































































































































































Tuesday, Sept. 28, 2004 - 11:29 a.m.

Yes, I have been terrible at updating this diary as of late. I really have no excuse except that this is me we are talking about, and really, what else did you expect?

First off, Happy Banned Book Week! Go find a Judy Blume novel and relish reading a book that is consistently despised by the religious right. Harry Potter works too, as well as any book with my name in the title.

Second, as many of you already know from my insane email babble, the online ezine Eclectica has informed me that it will publish my English capstone "Marigold Crowns: Fighting for a Personal Theology". You can read it here after October 1st.

Needless to say, this is very exciting. I am still a bit dizzy after all the happy circles I danced upon learning of my fabulous fortune. But do I feel compelled to take a break? No! Instead, I go into a writing frenzy, worrying that if I don't send something out quick, my luck might run out. Luckily, my lazy side kicks in, telling me to relax, drink some wine, go watch "Everybody Loves Raymond".

I have been watching entirely to much television lately. I swear, I will NEVER own a TiVo; it would be death. For some reason I ended up watching "LAX" last night, that lame new NBC show about LA's airport and Heather Locklear's age defying midriff. I have a tendency to watch "The Apprentice" as well, though when I think about the show itself, it is a rather bland concept of entertainment. I shouldn't be so entertained by a bunch of over aggressive morons making fools of themselves. Sometimes the Canadian Broadcasting Channel (CBC) has some good shows, because I like to fancy myself an up and coming anglophile, but soon all that will be on will be hockey. I have to hear enough about hockey as is, thanks to the liddle bruder.

As I write this, meus puer (my boy, in Latin, learn your classical languages, people), JC, is airborne, on his way to Durham, England. Knowing that it will take more than an eight hour drive to see him now depresses me. Yet, now I get to think about visiting England, a grand plan in the making.

And, Happy Birthday JM! We threw confetti all over the house in celebration of your birthday. We then vacuumed it up with my mother's new Dyson vacuum cleaner, only the best vacuum EVER! We sang the happy birthday song to the soft, oh-so-quiet, humm of this fabulous machine.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!